Savannah’s first Catholic church, Saint John the Baptist, was originally constructed around 1800.  Fifty years later Pope Pius IX established the Diocese of Savannah, and the church was enlarged, eventually becoming the Cathedral we know it as today.  This month the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist has been granted by Pope Francis the title of Minor Basilica, making it just the 18th Cathedral nationwide to receive the honor.  A basilica must “stand out as a center of active and pastoral liturgy,” according to Vatican documents.


Lost your password?