Following his swearing in on Monday, Lt. Gov. Geoff Duncan, with the help of the aptly named Senate Committee on Assignments, wasted little time in announcing the Senate’s committee chairs for the first session of the 155th Georgia General Assembly.

While many chairmen remain the same as in 2018, some notable changes include Sen. Lindsey Tippins (R-Marietta) switching from Education and Youth to Higher Education, Sen. Renee Unterman (R-Buford) likewise swapping from Chair of Health and Human Services to Science and Technology, and Sen. Bill Cowsert (R-Athens) named Chairman of Regulated Industries.

In addition four Democrats will serve as Chairmen in 2019, giving at least a hint of bipartisanship to the Senate, which remains in Republican control by a measure of 35-19.

Said Duncan on the assignments, “Diligent committee work is fundamental to the Senate’s political process and essential to the formation of sound public policy.  Georgians should know we’ve selected chairs who are capable leaders as well as subject matter experts so that our committee process can be as deliberative, informative, and substantive as possible. I look forward to working closely with each one of our chairs – and their committee members – as we work to enact policies that advance the livelihoods of all Georgians.”

See the full list of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen below, with new appointees in italics.  A full list of assignments can be found HERE

  • Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee: Chairman Sen. John Wilkinson (R – Toccoa) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Lee Anderson (R – Grovetown)
  • Appropriations Committee: Chairman Sen. Jack Hill (R – Reidsville) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Blake Tillery (R – Vidalia)
  • Banking and Financial Institutions Committee: Chairman Sen. William Ligon (R – Brunswick) and Vice-Chairman Sen. John F. Kennedy (R – Macon)
  • Economic Development and Tourism Committee: Chairman Sen. Frank Ginn (R – Danielsville) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Matt Brass (R – Newnan)
  • Education and Youth Committee: Chairman Sen. P.K. Martin (R – Lawrenceville) and Vice-Chairman Sen. John Wilkinson (R – Toccoa)
  • Ethics Committee: Chairman Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick (R – Marietta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. William Ligon (R – Brunswick)
  • Finance Committee: Chairman Sen. Chuck Hufstetler (R – Rome) and Vice-Chairman Sen. John Albers (R – Roswell)
  • Government Oversight Committee: Chairman Sen. Bill Heath (R – Bremen) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Marty Harbin (R – Tyrone)
  • Health and Human Services Committee: Chairman Sen. Ben Watson (R – Savannah) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Dean Burke (R – Bainbridge)
  • Higher Education Committee: Chairman Sen. Lindsey Tippins (R – Marietta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Brian Strickland (R – McDonough)
  • Insurance and Labor Committee: Chairman Sen. Burt Jones (R – Jackson) and Vice-Chairman Sen. P.K. Martin (R – Lawrenceville)
  • Interstate Cooperation Committee: Chairman Sen. Donzella James (D – Atlanta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Freddie Powell Sims (D – Dawson)
  • Judiciary Committee: Chairman Sen. Jesse Stone (R – Waynesboro) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Bill Cowsert (R – Athens)
  • Natural Resources and the Environment Committee: Chairman Sen. Tyler Harper (R – Ocilla) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Bill Heath (R – Bremen)
  • Public Safety Committee: Chairman Sen. John Albers (R – Roswell) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Tyler Harper (R – Ocilla)
  • Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee: Chairman Sen. Matt Brass (R – Newnan) and Vice-Chairman Sen. William Ligon (R – Brunswick)
  • Regulated Industries and Utilities Committee: Chairman Sen. Bill Cowsert (R – Athens) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Matt Brass (R – Newnan)
  • Retirement Committee: Chairman Sen. Ellis Black (R – Valdosta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Chuck Hufstetler (R – Rome)
  • Rules Committee: Chairman Sen. Jeff Mullis (R – Chickamauga) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Jack Hill (R – Reidsville)
  • Science and Technology Committee: Chairman Sen. Renee Unterman (R – Buford) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Greg Dolezal (R – Cumming)
  • Special Judiciary Committee: Chairman Sen. Jen Jordan (D – Atlanta) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Donzella James (D – Atlanta)
  • State and Local Governmental Operations Committee: Chairman Sen. Greg Kirk (R – Americus) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Chuck Payne (R – Dalton)
  • State Institutions and Property Committee: Chairman Sen. Ed Harbison (D – Columbus) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Blake Tillery (R – Vidalia)
  • Transportation Committee: Chairman Sen. Brandon Beach (R – Alpharetta) and Vice- Chairman Sen. Steve Gooch (R – Dahlonega)
  • Urban Affairs Committee: Chairman Sen. Lester Jackson (D – Savannah) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Steve Henson (D – Stone Mountain)
  • Veterans, Military and Homeland Security: Chairman Sen. Bruce Thompson (R – White) and Vice-Chairman Sen. Ed Harbison (D – Columbus)





Lost your password?